Users Unwittingly Subscribe to Annoying Omnatuor.com’s Push Notifications
Push notifications are messages that can be sent to mobile or desktop applications. They may appear on a lock screen, on the top section of your device’s screen. App publishers or websites can only send a push notification if you have their app installed or have otherwise granted permission.
Push notifications are a popular form of promotion because they offer a wider reach for advertisers, and there are websites that make use of it. One such website that uses the growing business model is Omnatuor.com. Omnatuor.com may not review the content it promotes, so it may inadvertently push users into subscribing to its push notification service taking no heed to potential risks. These kinds of unreliable pages have been growing in popularity, and it does not look like it’s stopping any time soon.
In basic terms, websites like Omnatuor.com employ a scenario that invites the user to click the ‘Allow’ button. By clicking the button, users unwittingly grant broad browser permissions to Omnatuor.com. Subsequently, the website takes advantage of these permissions to deliver unwanted and intrusive messages and advertisements to the user’s device.
The messages and related advertisements delivered by Omnatuor.com or similar sites should not be trusted. By clicking such notifications, users would risk being taken to advertisements or compromised websites that may lead to other security issues. These sites may include suspicious social engineering surveys, phishing tactics, fake giveaways, offers to install potentially unwanted programs or PUPs, adware, browser hijackers and other threats.
If you find that your computer has been affected by the push notifications associated with Omnatuor.com or that the push notifications lead you to threats like PUPs, you should attempt to change your settings to disallow them. You should also regularly perform security scans on your computer with the help of a reputable malware remediation tool.